Customer Testimonials

We believe that the best way for you to find out about our coffins and our customer service, is to let our past clients tell you in their own words. Here are some client testimonials that do just that.

  • review rating 5  Having been let down by another coffin supplier, i contacted Sussex Willow Coffins andJake stepped in to help us out, he had a beautiful wicker casket made and delivered within 4 days which included the weekend! The craftsmanship was exceptional, helping make my dad's funeral special although one of the saddest days of my life, the customer service we received from first contact through to delivery was truly excellent. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Jake and his team to anyone who requires an expert in eco friendly coffin. Thank you Jake.

    thumb Maggie Hinton
    1/09/2018

    review rating 5  Looking online for a willow coffin for my Mum I was delighted to find a local maker - Sussex Willow Coffins just a few miles from me. I spoke to Jake and he was extremely helpful, it was a stressful time and he was very patient and understanding. He happened to have a suitably sized coffin at his workshop which he was able to line for me and was quite happy for me to come and pick it up in my estate car, this didn't faze him at all. The coffin was really beautiful, we decorated it very simply with flowers from my Mum's old garden and I absolutely know it was what she would have chosen if she could have done. It was complimented many times, by the funeral directors as well as friends and family. It really couldn't have been better.

    thumb Alison Rankin
    4/09/2017

    review rating 5  When searching for a UK maker of willow coffins I came across Sussex Willow and Jake Whitcroft. I'm so glad I did. Visited Jake's workshop where he was happy to show me examples of his work and discuss my requirements. Over the next few days Jake was always prompt in responding to calls and emails and the coffin was delivered to the funeral directors in plenty of time. Mum would have been delighted with the result and the coffin was much admired by many who attended her funeral. First-rate service and quality.

    thumb Graeme Warner
    3/15/2018

    review rating 5  We contacted Jake urgently for the coffin for a friend. Jake gave such good advice. His compassion and dedication shone through. Then we fetched one of his green willow coffins for our friend. It is so beautiful, partly woven from willows from our friend's beloved Sussex Downs, and reminiscent of the willow hedges that our friend loved and walked beside for many a mile...wonderful craftsmanship and attention to detail, and our friend's hand etched name plate is breathtaking.

    thumb lisntell1
    6/21/2018

    review rating 5  Beautiful coffin for my mum I ordered one of the Sussex Willow coffins for my mum as we were having a natural burial for her. Jake was incrediably helpful and kind, the coffin was made and delivered within a few days of me ordering it. It looked beautiful and the funeral directors said it was the best willow coffin they had ever seen. It was woven properly all the way round, it didnt have a wooden base, but a proper willow one (apparently many willow coffins have a cheap hardboard base and just willow sides - I had no idea!) We put simple white lilies on the top and wound a few bits of ivy round the sides and it looked lovely. I was so pleased with it. I am hoping not to need another such coffin for a long time, but if I do then I would certainly get Jake to make it.

    thumb Julie Holland
    12/13/2016

    review rating 5  I cannot thank Jake enough for the beautiful willow coffin that he made for my mum. I went to his workshop in the countryside to see work in progress and meet up with him. Jake is warm, kind and caring and when I asked if I could do a little bit of the weaving, he was both happy and helpful in showing me how. Grief is a strange thing but I felt great comfort in weaving a few rows on the lid. The finished green willow coffin looked really beautiful when delicately decorated with flowers and people commented on how pretty it was. I am so happy that a lovely local man used his own skills and local willow to fulfil my mum's wishes.

    thumb delia smith
    9/14/2016

    review rating 5  Jake was really helpful, caring and knowledgeable in a time when we needed assistance. He was able to hand build a bespoke coffin for our loved family member. Jake also liaised with the funeral directors to make sure everything was on time etc. We have since commissioned a ashes casket in the same willow design as the original coffin and again Jake was most accommodating. Thank you for making a difficult time easier.

    thumb Claire Jackman
    7/01/2018

    review rating 5  Having Jake make our father's coffin was just perfect. Being able to go out to his workshop and see how he worked and know that the coffin we chose was as ethically and environmentally as sound as it could possibly be was really important to us as it would have been to dad. On the day of the funeral lots of people commented really positively on the coffin because it was such an unusual choice and because you could see that it had been hand made with care rather than just something that had been shop built. Jake was helpful and supportive throughout, suggesting options rather than pushing them on us and delivered all he'd promised in plenty of time so there was nothing for us to worry about throughout our dealings with him. We were looking for something unique and special and that's what we got. Thanks again Jake. Matt, Lizzie and Chris.

    thumb mnc buyssens
    3/01/2017

    review rating 5  My dad was being buried in Wales, but I was unable to find a willow coffin maker anywhere near who was available. As a last resort I looked up Willow Coffins in Sussex, where I live, and found Jake. He was able to create a coffin within our timescale, and get it delivered to our funeral director in Wales with no problem. Unfortunately I didn't have an opportunity to visit Jake at his work place, so instead chose a design from photos on his website. Although I had every confidence he would do a great job, when we saw Dad's coffin on the day it surpassed all expectations. It was a work of art, and absolutely perfect for my dad who loved all things woody and rustic. The family all gathered round and took a moment to admire Jake's workmanship, the details were lovely, from the lettering on the wooden nameplate to the braided loops holding the hazel rods. Our funeral director said she has never seen a more beautiful coffin, and we all concurred. Thank you so much Jake, I couldn't recommend you more highly.

    thumb Bonnie Ogden
    4/10/2018



ENGLISH WILLOW WICKER COFFINS

Find out more about our handmade English Willow Wicker Coffins and how to order…

Wicker Coffins from Natural English Willow | Sussex Willow Coffins


CONTACT SUSSEX WILLOW COFFINS

Make contact with Sussex Willow Coffins by telephone, email or social media using these links: